Handmade wedding part 4:  Order of Service 

After a long break here is another installment about our handmade wedding.

Order of Service
One of the things I find most interesting about weddings are choices people make about the actual marriage ceremony/service/celebration. It’s often the most personal part of the day and what all the rest of the celebrating, booze, food and dancing is all about. People also seem to be having such a wonderfully diverse range of different types of ceremony. So I thought I would share some details about the design and content of our Order of Service.

Out of all the DIY stationary bits I did for our wedding I think these were the simplest, quickest and most effective. Isn’t that always the way?! We went for a vaguely rustic looking brown paper cover with a few simple rubber stamps, including reusing our personalised stamp I had made for our Save the Dates. We formatted the inserts ourselves in quite a plain style and had them printed and stapled.  Then finalised it all off by attaching the covers and inserts with  a very basic sewn binding using ribbons. So easy and simple.

Choosing the wedding readings was something I started thinking about really early on, although a lot of our favourites were actually too short to use for a traditional stand up reading.  I was very pleased when I thought of the compromise of including some of these quotes and sayings about marriage at the beginning and end of the Order of Service. Two of my favourite novelists (George Eliot and Thomas Hardy) could be included in the day after all!

The selections we went for were:

“Let wild birds call the banns
merlins from the hillside
sanderlings from the waves
whimbrels with seven notes
nightingales from the wood
from the treetops rooks
from your own back garden
blue tit, robin, wren.”

From For a Wedding by Michael Longley

“What greater thing is there for two human souls than to feel that they are joined together to strengthen each other in all labour, to minister to each other in all sorrow, to share with each other in all gladness, to be one with each other in the silent unspoken memories.”

From Adam Bede by George Eliot

“Camerado, I give you my hand!
I give you my love more precious than money,
I give you myself before preaching or law;
Will you give me yourself? Will you come travel with me?
Shall we stick by each other as long as we live?”

From Song of the Open Road by Walt Whitman

“At home by the fire, whenever you look up, there I shall be — and whenever I look up there will be you.”

From Far From the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy

I found a lot of the so called ‘best readings’ for weddings list tended to repeat the same ones over and over again, so it was a very pleasant change when I came across this selection of wedding poetry from contemporary poets in the Guardian. We loved the Wendy Cope poem and this was read out in full by Will’s sister. It will always be special to us now.

Do let me know details of your wedding ceremonies or celebrations – I’m always keen to hear about them! 

One thought on “Handmade wedding part 4:  Order of Service 

  1. Pingback: Handmade wedding part 5: table design, favours and seating plan  | Home, make, be

Leave a Reply

