Sunday night delights #13

As I’m back at work tomorrow (Christmas holidays are heavenly until they have to end aren’t they?) it’s time for another batch of Sunday night delights. Will and I watched the documentary Happy on Netflix earlier after hearing a bit about it. It examines what drives happiness and explores the world of happiness research. I found the whole film interesting, but one thing that I really picked up on was a study that had been done that suggested people who took the time to think of five things they’re grateful for every Sunday would be happier than those who don’t – so I think I’m on a good path with these posts! The same research also showed that after taking the time to count your blessings, doing something that showed compassion and helping people made you even happier – so I clearly need to work on that. I am going to start adding a brief five things I’m grateful for at the end of these posts as a start though.

This weekend…

Has been wonderfully social, I met up with my University friend J on Friday, we have been trying to meet up for months but haven’t managed it til right at the end of the Christmas holidays. We met for lunch in London, then wandered round Heals department store. I love expensive shops as it almost feels like wandering round a museum, as the prices are so far out of my range, but it’s so full of beautifully designed homeware that it is such an enjoyable way to spend an hour or so.

On Saturday Will’s best man and his girlfriend came to stay, and we played games and ate lots so it was a successful weekend visit! I cooked a massive fry-up this morning, accompanied by a left over bottle of Bucks Fizz, to see out the holidays in style. We then headed to Cambridge to see another friend (with cake, because clearly we needed more food!)

The week to come…

Hard to think of positives for the first working week back at work! However, Will and I always try and do something fun on the first weekend in January, so I am looking forward to planning what that’s going to be this year. I’m also hoping to go on some walks during lunch at work, which I used to do really regularly but have got into the habit of sitting on the computer or running errands instead. Walks are so much better for the soul.

5 things I’m grateful for right now:

  • Having lovely friends, and spending time with them
  • A lovely tidy house ready for the working week (we tidied for house guests!)
  • Our house move should hopefully be proceeding now Christmas is over – fingers crossed for a moving date!
  • I’m starting The Camomile Lawn by Mary Wesley tonight, I’ve been wanting to read it for ages.
  • After I cooked the massive fry up this morning, Will had done most of the washing up before I’d even realised what was happening – awesome husband.
One thought on “Sunday night delights #13

  1. Pingback: Sunday night delights #14 | Home, make, be

Leave a Reply

